1959 Ralph C. Wilson was awarded an American Football League franchise on October 28.
1960 The Bills lost their first regular season game to the New York Titans, 27-3 on September 11.
1962 The Bills had their first winning season, finishing 7-6-1.
1962 Cookie Gilchrist ran for 1,096 yards, becoming the first Bills player to run for 1,000 yards.
1963 Buffalo made its first playoff appearance, losing 26-8 to the Boston Patriots on December 28.
1964 A 20-7 victory over
San Diego in the AFL Championship Game gave the Bills their first title.
1965 The Bills again defeated San Diego to take the AFL championship.
1969 Buffalo made running back O.J. Simpson of USC the first player chosen in the draft.
1973 Simpson set an NFL record by rushing for 2,003 yards.
1986 Mary Levy took over as head coach, replacing Hank Bullough.
1991 The Bills made their first Super Bowl appearance and lost 20-19 to the New York Giants when Scott Norwood's attempt at a game-winning field goal from 47 yards was wide right.


Bills Facts
Bills Wall of Fame
Bills Team Roster
Contact us
Buffalo Bills

  Main |Resources  Contact us